West Bengal

West Bengal

Darjeeling Himalaya is the mountainous area on the North-Western side of the state of West Bengal in India. This region belongs to the Eastern Himalaya range. The Darjeeling district except the Siliguri subdivision constitutes the region. It arises abruptly from the Terai region. The region slopes from a south to north direction. The river Teesta divides the region in two parts — the region to the east of Teesta and the region to the west of Teesta. Hills to the west of Teesta is the highest region of the Darjeeling Himalaya. Two distinct ranges are visible here - the Singalila range and the Darjeeling-Kurseong range. The Singalila range is on the western limit of the region and separates Nepal from West Bengal. Singalila National Park is situated here. The four highest peaks of this range are: Falut (3,595 m), Sandakfu (3,630 m) - the highest point of West Bengal, Tonglu (3,036 m), Sabargram (3,543 m). Two notable peaks of Darjeeling-Kurseong range are Tiger Hill and Senchal. Hills to the east of Teesta is the Chola range which is situated on the Sikkim and Bhutan border. The highest peak is Rishila. The town of Kalimpong is situated in this region. Neora Valley National Park is located here. The relatively low-height Buxa-Jayanti range, a part of the Sivalik, is also located here. Some notable rivers of this region are Mechi, Balason, Rammam, Rangeet, Teesta, and Jaldhaka.

Honey Moon and Tourist Destinations


Call US 24x7

Mail us at


Like us on Facebook


whatsapp icon